elastic composition notebook closure

20160825_154028

In my last post, I mentioned that I’m not a huge fan of poly composition notebooks.  They tend to be difficult to keep open, yet difficult to keep closed too.  So, I fashioned a quick elastic closure to add onto my notebook to keep it tidy in my bag.  It also doubles as a makeshift pen loop as well.  I’m a big fan of the way that closures on notebooks look (e.g. the Midori Traveler’s Notebook), so I’m liking the resemblance that this closure has to those notebooks.

20160825_153739

 

First, I decided where to place a hole for the elastic to exit the cover.  I decided to make my hole close to the spine, so that it’s mostly out of the way.

20160825_153818

I inserted a cutting mat behind the cover to avoid cutting the paper inside, and then used my Martha Stewart paper punch to make a small hole (I used the smallest size, a few millimeters in diameter).  You could use anything sharp to make the hole as long as it’s big enough to accomodate the elastic, but not so large that the knot will slip through.

I then cut a piece of elastic roughly double the width of my notebook.  You’ll be able to adjust it later. Tie it into a loop.20160825_153918

I then used a loop of thread on a needle to pull my elastic through the cover.  Basically, you make a loop with thread, and this acts as a giant needle eye for thick threads or elastics.

20160825_153930

Once it was pulled through, I made sure the loop fit the book nicely. Here’s what it looks like from the inside:

20160825_154110

It does create a small bump under the pages as you get closer to the end of the notebook, so if that bothers you, then perhaps moving the hole closer to the spine could prevent it from affecting your writing. I’m pretty happy with the placement of mine, and I can’t wait to use it this semester.

Give it a try on those hard-to-close notebooks!

20160825_154009

 

Leave a Reply

