Noodler’s Black dilution series

20160906_081444

I thought I would do a dilution series with Noodler’s Black since I couldn’t find a nice one in my brief internet searches.  I really like this ink in many instances, but sometimes it can be overwhelming on the page.  I was hoping for a nice grey color.

I diluted with filtered water, although I suppose distilled is supposed to be the safe standard choice for water.  The samples are written with a fine nib Pilot Metropolitan.

To be honest, there isn’t much of a difference between the 50%, 33%, and 25% dilutions at first glance, but there is a bit more shading in the lower concentration inks.  I also think the feel of the ink is different than the original, but I can’t quite put my finger on what’s difference.  I’m currently using the 25% dilution to take notes, it looks very similar to pencil (which is what I was hoping for).  It also is fun to use for sketching, as it isn’t so saturated and can achieve some shading.

Leave a Reply

